2010 Westerly, Santa Ynez Valley, Sauvignon Blanc

wester

Purchased on 2/22 for $3.99 at my Jackson, CA store, ABV 13.9%
This Sauvignon Blanc pours a nice light straw color and is crystal clear with thick legs running down my Riedel SB stemwear. A nose of green apple and citris is pleasant and inviting. Tangy flavors of citris (some lemon) tart green apples and a little pineapple with a long crisp finish make this a good selection for my grilled marinated Mahi Mahi and artichoke. Interestingly, the Hitching Post resturant in Santa Ynez Valley (Buellton) serves the best grilled artichokes with an amazing spicy alioli sauce. You may remember this resturant from the Sideways movie. I met David Crosby and his family there, awesome place. Back to the wine, it sells for $16-$20 at other places so I will be buying more.

This entry was posted in California, Nor Cal GO, Sauvignon Blanc, Thumbs Up, White on by .

About Vin du Pays

I am a retired engineer/manager/director of engineering from the high-tech industry of the San Francisco bay area and spent my final eight years teaching science. I now live in the beautiful California foothills enjoying some of the wonderful Italian varietals grown and produced here. This area started producing wine during the gold rush around 1850. I am a wine enthusiast with most of my focus on California wines, but have enjoyed many from France, Germany, and Italy.

5 thoughts on “2010 Westerly, Santa Ynez Valley, Sauvignon Blanc

  1. Expat

    The wife and I had it with roasted chicken and thought it was excellent. Virtually no annoying oak flavor. It was crisp, appley and lemony with very nice balance. For reference, I like Italian and French whites and not buttery, American chardonnays. I think this is a great wine for a steal.

    Reply
  2. Robert Seeds

    JWC, those were made by a different wine maker. This wine is quite good.
    Oh, just wanted to comment on Vin du Pays’ bio: I have at home a University of Calif Press book on California wine containing a chapter on California’s first vintage. It concludes that the first wine made in California was in the 1780s, and was made in downtown Los Angeles.

    Reply
    1. Vin du Pays Post author

      Those Spanish Missionaries needed their wine. I read a lot about the history of wine in California and very interesting. I have changed my bio to reflect a better histoy.

      Reply
  3. JWC

    Hope to see in Oregon, was in Calif. a couple years ago, when the Westerly wines were in the GO’s in the Bay Area and Santa Barbara. Solid wines across the board, had a nice red blend W, and a delicious reserve merlot, in addition to the sb from what I remember.
    Good stuff.

    Reply

Leave a comment